Family Ties · Foodstuffs · Geekery · Health Nutty · The Grind

Busy Busy Busy Bee

Source: stock.xchng

The good news – I have not turned into a total iPhone junkie in the last 24 hours.  I am still trying to sort out what sorts of things I want it to do.  I have downloaded a several free apps and a handful of paid apps, the most pricey of which was a cheap navigation app (for inquiring minds, I will list all the apps I’ve chosen to date and those I’m still considering at the bottom of this post).  I also need to get something to allow me to charge it in the car and a headset.  I’ve never had a headset before, and Virginia now has a law in effect where talking on your phone and driving without a headset can get you fined (if you get pulled over for something else – they can’t pull you over for just that).  So.  Before I drive to DC on Saturday, I intend to get both of those things, which means the cost of this phone keeps creeping up little by little…but once I’ve gotten a few more things, I think I’ll be set for a while.

I have done other things in the past few days, too, and we have a busy schedule this month in general.  But this week, we had a friend over for dinner, I went to my book club, I got my hair cut (and got my iPhone), and David’s dad came to town to have a meeting and we went out for dinner with him.  Tomorrow, my BFF will come for the night and we will put the finishing touches on our other good friend’s bachelorette party, which is in DC on Saturday.  Whee!  All good times, but just a lot of stuff!  Next week brings Charlottesville’s Restaurant Week, and we have two reservations to try out places we’ve never been to before while they have their $26 prix fixe menus for the week, and David’s BFF will be spending some time with us throughout the week as well.  My mom and niece may (hopefully!) come visit me one afternoon during the next two weeks as well, and then the following weekend, I have to work because I am the Director of Education for most of our association clients, and that means I liaise with the client committees on education-related things.  So I have a meeting with the mentoring committee of one of our clients that will begin with me arranging (or doing myself) airport pickups on Saturday afternoon and evening followed by an all-day meeting on Sunday and half-day meeting on Monday…and then the same client’s Board of Directors will be meeting in our offices on Tuesday and Wednesday.  I’m not involved with the Board directly, but I’m likely to be pulled in for a discussion or two, and I definitely have to look my best and be highly professional and all that while they’re in the office.  The weekend after that I’m either free or will be with my parents, helping with my mom’s recovery from knee surgery, and then my friend’s bridal shower.  It’s a jam-packed summer so far.

I tend to think of the summers as a relaxing time, and the winter holidays being the busy season, but we’ve just got a very busy summer this year I think.  It’s not bad at all, I’m just trying to figure out how to keep to my good eating and workout schedule while all of this is going on.  In case you couldn’t tell, lots of this revolves around evening occurences, which block my gym time, and eating out.  I haven’t gained any weight yet, but I haven’t really been losing any either.  Maybe this is just the time I have to let it go and do the best I can with what I have to work with – after all, I will not be this insanely busy forever.

OK!  iPhone apps for the inquiring minds are below.

I have actually acquired the following:

  • Facebook
  • Remember the Milk (though I’m ticked that they’re going to make me upgrad to the paid Pro version in order to keep using the app after the free trial – might be enough to make me switch to a new to-do list, though I love RTM and have all my stuff in it already right now)
  • Twitter (just to keep up with the few twits I follow)
  • Mobile RSS Free (for my Google Reader feeds)
  • Links in a Blink (syncs to Google bookmarks)
  • Google Mobile
  • SparkPeople (to track my food and exercise on the go)
  • Epicurious
  • UrbanSpoon
  • WordPress
  • Delicious Bookmarks
  • SoundHound
  • Slacker Radio
  • All-in-1 Gamebox
  • Brain Exercise Lite w/ Dr. Kawashima
  • B&N eReader (to sync with my Nook when I finally spring for one)
  • CheapGas
  • CoPilot Live North America (that’s the $20 one, but is apparently quite a decent GPS Navigator for such a low cost)
  • MarkTheSpot
  • Photoshop.com Mobile
  • Hipstamatic
  • Incredibooth (bought mainly because, for $1, I think it might bring us a lot of fun at the bachelorette this weekend)
  • Skype
  • Logitech TouchMouse

I’ve put the following on my list as maybes in the future:

  • Photogene
  • QuickOffice Connect Mobile (this is a likely, but it’s $10 and I don’t need it this second, so I’ll probably wait and get it later)
  • ConvertBot
  • Coolgorilla
  • Skee-ball
  • Crush the Castle

Any other must-haves in your opinion?  If you got to the end of this list, you almost certainly have an opinion. 🙂

Leave a comment