Blah Blah Blah

An I’m-Busy Post: A to Z meme

I have beaucoup things happening this weekend and next, so you can probably count on a couple of easy-for-me posts. Certainly today’s is; it’s possible I’ll skip next weekend all together if I can’t get it written in advance. Anyway, today’s post comes to you courtesy of my friend Krissy at Shiawase Life. She put together her own version of this last week, and I mentally filed it away as a good idea for an upcoming post during the busy times.

Back when we were babies, at our wedding.
Back when we were babies, at our wedding.

A. Attached or single? Obvi, if you’ve ever read this blog before you know I’m attached. Married for 8 years, together for 3 years before that, for a total of 11 years of happiness. I kinda like him a little bit. I think I’ll keep him.

B. Best friend? Other than the aforementioned awesome husband, there’s Amanda and Kristine, both of whom I’ve known for over half of my life, my Al(l)isons at work (two Allisons and an Alison), and my mom.

C. Cake or pie? Yes.

D. Day of choice? Saturday or Sunday, depending on what we’re doing for the weekend. Usually Saturday is more relaxing for me and Sunday has more chores, but sometimes Sunday is more relaxing…

E. Essential item? I don’t go anywhere without my phone, I suppose. My calendar, email, to-do list, LIFE are all accessible on it.

F. Favorite color? I have several. Teal, dark purple, and grey are perpetual favorites.

G. Gummy bears or worms? Worms, preferably sour.

H. Home town? Bedford, Virginia. A small rural farming community, home to the National D-Day Memorial, and where most of my relatives continue live, about a two-hour drive from where I live now.

I. Favorite indulgence? Sugar of just about any variety (see C above), but especially chocolate.

J. January or July? I’m much more a warm-weather person than a cold-weather person. Definitely July.

My kid, Miss M.
My kid, Miss M.

K. Kids? Why yes, I had one fairly recently, as regular readers will know.

L. Life isn’t complete without? Books. If you took away my books, you might as well kill me.

M. Marriage date? June 18, 2005.

N. Number of brothers/sisters? Just the one, my little siskid (OK, so she’s 34 now and has a kid 9 years older than mine. So what? 🙂 ).

O. Oranges or apples? Usually apples, but sometimes I get a hankering for an orange. And when it comes to fruit-flavored things – like lollipops or other artificially flavored candy – I prefer orange flavor to apple flavor.

P. Phobias? Tiny enclosed spaces. Yep, I’m claustrophobic, though it’s not so very severe. I’ve never had a panic attack or passed out or anything.

Q. Quotes? “The truth will set you free, but first it will piss you off.” – Gloria Steinem

R. Reasons to smile? The world is a ridiculous place. There are lots of things to laugh about. And every time my little girl laughs, I get a big goofy grin on my own face.

S. Season of choice? I like pretty much all of them. Winter is my least favorite, but there are things I like about winter, too. Mostly I’m glad to live in a place where we have 4 distinct seasons but none of them are too severe.

T. Tag 5 people. Nope.

U. Unknown fact about me? I’m extremely unathletic – I am not coordinated and I’m not very interested in or motivated to exercise – but I am very naturally flexible. My one athletic talent!

V. Vegetable? Ooooh, that’s a hard one. I like lots of vegetables cooked, and very few vegetables raw. I guess broccoli is my favorite.

W. Worst habit? I am absolutely a procrastinator. It’s because I’m both lazy and a perfectionist, I think.

X. X-ray or ultrasound? Er…what an odd question! Depends on what it’s for – they’re both good for different things! The most recent of the two that I had was an ultrasound, back in October when the munchkin was late to arrive.

Y. Your favorite food? If we’re ruling out desserts of all kinds because I’ve already talked about that…probably pizza. I could (and have) eaten pizza for days and days in a row without getting tired of it.

Z. Zodiac sign? Scorpio, like my mother-in-law, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, several of my husband’s aunts/uncles/cousins, several of my friends, and now my daughter.

Leave a Reply

