Barbaric Yawping · Blah Blah Blah

Things from 2011 that Need to Go Away in 2012

From Mama Kat’s blog prompts: “Top Trends of 2011 I Want to Forget.” I don’t agree with most of Mama Kat’s list (yes to Google+, zombies, and life affirmations; for the rest of her list I’m either not bothered by it or didn’t realize it was a trend, so I wouldn’t pick those things), but I liked the topic.

Not all of the things on my list necessarily rose to popularity during 2011, but they were popular – or still popular – last year. And I’m SO over them. Surely I’m not the only one.

  1. “Checking in” to places or media on the internet. So you’re eating at Chili’s, or shopping at Wal-Mart, or watching Arrested Development. Good for you. If you have something of substance to say about it – a really good deal to be had, a funny conversation you overheard, some critical analysis – fine, share away. But I really don’t need to know your every move. Posts on Twitter and Facebook from Foursquare, Yelp, GetGlue, etc. are about to drive me bonkers. I get that some people check in to get a discount somewhere – and being a frugal gal myself, I support that – but can you disconnect your other social media accounts from your Foursquare account? K-thanx-bye.

    Source: Flickr user TAKA@P.P.R.S
  2. Bacon.Yes, I like bacon too. I think it tastes good. I enjoy bacon on my pizza, with my eggs, crumbled up on a salad, and in many other iterations. No, I do not think it belongs in cupcakes. No, I do not want bacon on my t-shirt or keychain.

    Source: Flickr user Lara604
  3. The end of the world.How many times was that predicted by that one crazy guy in 2011? And I’m already so far over the 12/21/2012 Mayan apocalypse thing. I’m pretty damn sure the world isn’t ending and all the jokes have been made. Let’s move on.

    Source: Flickr user Peta-de-Aztlan
  4. 3-D everything.The vast, vast majority of movies that are put out in 3-D have no reason to be in 3-D except it’s a thing now. And most of them were not filmed/created in 3-D, so the effect actually sucks. Furthermore, I have ZERO desire to wear 3-D glasses on my couch in my house while I watch normal TV. This is something that should be rare and special and well-done when it’s done, and the trendy bit needs to die.

    Source: Flickr user lsgcp
  5. Skinny jeans.Let’s be honest: only about 1% of the population actually looks good in skinny jeans. I’m especially over the men-in-skinny-jeans thing. What’s wrong with normal jeans?

    Source: Flickr user josie_marie
  6. Hating on people who want to change the crappy things. Did I go down to my local Occupy protest and join in? No, I didn’t – but I understood why some people did. Do I grow all of my own food and can or freeze everything and raise chickens? No, but I totally understand why some people choose that lifestyle. Did I wear the same dress 365 different ways last year or commit to buying nothing but food and toilet paper? No, but I commend those who took a stand against rampant consumerism. So many of the systems we interact with every day are broken. They don’t work. The economy, healthcare and insurance, mega-corporations, politics, big food industry…most of these systems guarantee that the rich get richer at the expense of the pocketbook and the health of the middle class and poor. These systems need to change.So why do so many people ridicule their friends and neighbors for trying to change things?

    Source: Flickr user Sunset Parkerpix
  7. Judging people who don’t live as virtuous a life as you.As a caveat to the above, I also hate seeing the judgment in someone’s eyes when I admit that we don’t buy 100% all natural, organic, local whole foods, or that (God forbid) we ate hot dogs for dinner last night. Because the systems are broken, it’s a lot harder and more expensive to buy all local, healthy foods – I can only do my best within my time and budget allowance. And damn it, sometimes I want to eat a hot dog – I shouldn’t have to apologize for that.
    Source: Flickr user thebittenword.com

     

  8. The government pretending that the economy is fine! No, really! It’s recovering and everything will be just hunky-dory soon! For serious? My house is currently worth at least $50,000 less than we owe on it. Almost every person I know is working hard (and sometimes failing) to make ends meet. Our country is currently $15 trillionin debt. Don’t worry about all that, though. The economy is really just fine! Stop patronizing us, assholes. We’re adults. We have common sense. Lying about it just makes you look duplicitous…which you are, but I’m guessing that’s not the public image you really want to have.

    Source: Flickr user woodleywonderworks
  9. Reality TV talent shows.American Idol. The X Factor. The Voice. America’s Got Talent. You know what I’m saying. I have never really enjoyed most network reality TV, but it seems like the talent show types are multiplying for some inexplicable reason. America really does not have that much talent. You are not destined to be a star. Go back to school and learn science or economics or communications or something useful.

    Source: Flickr user BestofWDW
  10. QR codes.I can never get them to scan correctly. They usually just take me to a website that could have been printed using less space than the QR code. I find them to be dumb and a pain in the butt.

    Source: Flickr user Fluid Forms

How about you guys? Any trends you especially hope go away in the coming year?

20 thoughts on “Things from 2011 that Need to Go Away in 2012

  1. Hahah! Good article, Jennifer – I agree with a majority, especially the one about (6) people complaining about protesters, etc. I especially am annoyed at the people on FB that post that stupid image about the military that says “they don’t have time to occupy somewhere,” blah blah blah something like that. I mean, I support the troops 100 percent but that’s their chosen profession/career choice. It has nothing to do with people that lost their job that want things changed and made better for everyone.

    1. Absolutely! And there are military personnel who completely agree with the protesters, too! In fact, assuming you’re not a billionaire, it’s hard NOT to agree with the fact that something, somewhere is not working. Especially when you look at the struggles that most Americans are currently going through financially, how much debt our country is in, and then note that huge corporations like Exxon-Mobil and Bank of America are paying ZERO DOLLARS in corporate income tax every year despite listing billions and billions of dollars in profit on their annual reports – and that not only are they not paying taxes, they’re getting a couple of billion dollars in rebates from the government. Something is not right with that picture.

    1. Well, both Zazzle and Etsy have you covered on that score 🙂 And I do like bacon – a lot. It’s very yummy. I’m just sort of tired of hearing about it all the time.

  2. I have to disagree with you on the bacon. Yes it does in fact belong in a cupcake 🙂 Have you ever tried the bacon brownies at BBQ Exchange?

  3. I want all the fat, obnoxious dudes shoving food in their faces at the same 20 crummy places on a dozen food/travel shows to go away.

  4. Amen.
    Although my girl totally rocks those skinny jeans. She is the 1%.
    And bacon jam is a good use of bacon. One night last week for dinner when my family was elsewhere, I curled up with a bottle of wine, a loaf of bread, some good cheese and a jar of bacon jam. You will so have to come over for that happy hour special one night.

    1. Some people can wear skinny jeans successfully. They’re usually young. Most people cannot. I would LOVE to try the bacon jam. I almost attempted making some a couple of years ago, but punked out. 🙂

  5. I’m totally with you on everything on this list! Especially the skinny jeans. When skinny jeans went out everyone was saying they flatter no one! Who brought those back??? The 1%? I do love bacon. But it’s a breakfast food not a dessert.

    1. I will concede to bacon being allowable outside of breakfast. It is delicious in sandwiches and on salads, for instance. And I’m usually pretty willing to try things I’ve never tried before, so I probably would actually give a bacon cupcake a shot…but I’m really, really tired of the entire internet pushing the “ZOMG everything is better with bacon on it!” fad. It’s less the bacon itself that bothers me, and more the weird hype. I mean, it’s not like bacon is a new food or something, though you would think it must be from the crazed devotion that’s infiltrated the food and geek (and food geek) worlds in the last couple of years.

  6. I would like to present you with the Liebster Blog Award for up and coming blogs with fewer than 200 followers. I enjoy reading your blog and hope this award brings more followers to do the same. Please visit me and read more about this award and the other nominees!

  7. Right on about checking in, 2012, 3-D everything, skinny jeans, reality TV talent(less) shows, and QR codes. I have a theory onthe talent shows though–I think it is today’s version of the variety shows but we just ahve to make it a drama filled contest with panderign to freak shows while real talent gets voted off. And now I want bacon. Thanks. Congrats on the Liebster Blog Award, BTW.

  8. I agree with your entire list. You say enough with the bacon–that’s fine. To that I’d like to add enough with putting salt on desserts. Salty caramel this, salty caramel that–I’m over it.

  9. Love them all, but #7 tops my list. I am not organic, green or “all natural”. Nothing against it but stop lecturing me, people! I don’t recycle either – so there!

    1. Thanks for commenting, Cathy! We do eat some things organic, and we do try – to an extent – to be eco-friendly. We recycle. I believe in doing as much as I can to help the planet, eat as naturally as possible because it’s good for our bodies, to support our local farmers and vendors. But sometimes, I can’t afford local, grass-fed, free-range chicken. Sorry, folks – sad reality of not being wealthy. And I really like getting pizza delivery – sue me. That’s a hard thing sometimes in this area (as I’m sure you’re well aware!).

Leave a Reply

