Blah Blah Blah · Health Nutty · Sweet Home

2012 Giftolutions

Source: Flickr user Hicham Souilmi

Happy New Year! May 2012 find you healthy, wealthy, and wise!

Several years ago, I read a blog post where the blogger explained that a friend of hers preferred to give herself gifts for the coming year rather than making resolutions. The end result is essentially the same, but reframing your goals in this way is altogether more pleasant in my experience. I took her idea and have been doing the same thing ever since. It’s been a bit hard for me this year to think of gifts that I want and am capable of giving myself. I normally have this list down several days in advance, and yet here it is January 2 and I’m still trying to figure it out. I guess I feel like my goals aren’t really very different, that life isn’t very different, than they have been in the past few years. And then other goals that I might have, ones that cost money, are goals I’m hesitant to make for this year. Maybe that’s okay? Regardless, this is about all I have that I want and that I think I can achieve in 2012:

  • The gift of a stronger, healthier body. I made progress on this in 2011, but I am by no means finished – probably ever, really. In 2012, I want to continue running – and I want to get faster. I also want to continue walking. I want to continue journaling my food most days. And I want to add a wee bit of strength training to the mix.
  • The gift of an organized home and life. Because I failed miserably at this last year, I may just have to redouble my efforts. We live in a condo, and we’re not likely to be able to move out of it any time soon. We have a lot of stuff, especially books. I desperately need to purge, declutter, and organize so that we can more easily find and store the stuff we actually want to keep. This one will be hard, though – as much as I want the end result, I dread the process with every fiber of my being.
  • The gift of more sleep. I don’t think I get enough sleep for me. I get enough sleep for someone else, I’m sure – at least 7 hours most nights – but my body does better with more sleep than that. I’ve been thinking about moving the bedtime routine up by about 30 minutes. I think I’m ready to try that, at least for a little while, in 2012.

So that’s about it – that’s all I’ve got right now for this year. Looking back on it, it’s kind of a lame list, but these are all things I really want, and I can’t think of anything else that is important to me in the same way. How about you? Do you make any big, year-long goals? What do you think of the “gift” list instead of the traditional resolutions?

4 thoughts on “2012 Giftolutions

  1. I like the idea of the gift. I started the organizing in December and hope to devote specific times each month to the effort. I also need to have more sleep and my problem is going to bed. There is always one more thing I want to do! I would like to assume the habit of going to bed generally the same time every night and getting up the same time every morning.

    We’ll have to check in every month!

    1. Barb, that is my sleeping problem exactly. Usually it’s because I’m reading, and I want just one more chapter…and before I know it, it’s 12:30 and I have to get up at 6:30 or 7:00. I’m hoping that if I start the process of going to be earlier – brush teeth, take out contacts, walk the dogs, put on PJs, etc. – just 30 minutes earlier, I’ll have more time to read and will be able to put down my book at 11 or 11:30 at the latest!

  2. This is such a great idea. So much more positive than “I must do this” or “I will give this up” or other similarly Draconian goals.

Leave a Reply

