Blah Blah Blah · Health Nutty · Sweet Home · The Grind

2011’s Gifts to Myself – Revisited

Adapted from an image by Flickr user Mykl Roventine

At the beginning of 2011, I promised myself three gifts during the year:

  • The gift of ever-improving health.  Hey, I did good for half the year last year.  Let’s see if I can outlast 6 straight months in 2011.  I want to regularly exercise (3 times or more per week) and eat well (track my food intake 5 days a week) in 2011.  And I want to do all this with a focus on my health, not necessarily on my weight or appearance.
  • The gift of professional advancement.  I will complete my Copyediting Certificate from UCSD in 2011.  This is a little bit cheating since I’m already enrolled in the last class I need to do this, but I will finish, and it’s not a shabby accomplishment!
  • The gift of beauty and organization.  I want to continue my improvement and organizational plan from last year, finishing the kitchen and guest room organization, and doing the same for both bathrooms and the master bedroom.

So how did I do? Well, two out of three isn’t bad, is it? 🙂

I did pretty well on the first one. I did exercise fairly regularly and track my meals on most work days. As I’ve stated here recently, I’ve also begun a running program and have been running 3 days a week and walking 2 days a week in addition to keeping my food journal. I haven’t lost weight, unfortunately, but my body is stronger and healthier than it was a year ago – which was, after all, the goal.

The second was a bit of a gimme, so maybe it’s not fair to claim it as a victory, but I’m taking it anyway. I did, in fact, finish my Specialized Certificate in Copyediting from UCSD earlier this year. I also attended my first American Society of Training and Development conference for my day job, which was very exciting and allowed me to put into motion a number of new ideas for the associations I work with. So I definitely got myself some professional development for both my sideline editing work and my full-time association work, making this a win.

The third, however…oh, I kind of failed miserably on this one. If anything, I think my house is more crowded, cluttered, and dirtier now than a year ago. I organized nothing, decluttered nothing. I’d love for it to be done, but I don’t really want to do it.

So that’s where I stand on this year’s giftolutions, as I’ve been calling them. Not too bad, I think – better than lots of people do! Tomorrow or Monday you can look forward to my giftolutions for 2012. In the meantime, everyone have a happy and safe New Year’s Eve!

Leave a Reply

