Blah Blah Blah · Family Ties

The Un-Remembering

Lots of people are writing their remembrances of 9/11/01 today. You can’t really get away from it – I almost decided not to even turn on the computer at all today. Part of the zeal is that the hurt and shock still feels raw and fresh for so many, even 10 years later. The rest is blatant and disgusting commercial manipulation and media sensationalism. I have my personal story, too, of course, but I don’t want to contribute to the cacophony today. There are enough voices, enough pain, enough self-righteous anger, enough flags and eagles and fly-overs to last us at least 10 more years without my contributions.

The past 10 years have actually been pretty good to me: I quit a job that made me cry every day and now work at a place I greatly appreciate with co-workers I love; I went from being alone and lonely and sad to being married to the love of my life; I went from a life with no children to life with a beloved niece and numerous close friends with kids I love; I went from renting an apartment I didn’t love to owning a condo I like okay; I went from driving a 2-year-old car with some issues and a car payment to driving a 12-year-old car with some issues and no car payment (hey, it’s the little things!).

Castle and protecting wall built of Qwirkle tiles after the game was over

So instead of wallowing and picking at the painful scab, I spent today eating muffins for breakfast with my parents, playing Qwirkle with my niece and husband, eating grilled steak and baked potatoes and salad and cupcakes, and watching the first Redskins game of the season. I can think of nothing better than spending quality time with people you love in observance of 9/11. Be peaceful, be happy, be safe, friends.

3 thoughts on “The Un-Remembering

  1. I don’t think people are necessarily wallowing by posting their memories — I think we all have our way of marking the day and showing respect, whether it’s by posting a flag on a profile or spending time with family. Or both. 🙂

    1. Oh, and I certainly didn’t mean that disrespectfully. I completely understand the desire and the need for people to share their stories. I’m fighting sharing my own, fighting my OWN instinct to wallow. I decided I really wanted to focus on the positive and the happy today. The proof that life has gone on and the world can still be a good place to be.

Leave a Reply

