Bookwormishness

Bookalicious – 30 August 2011

My shelves are too bookalicious for you, baby. I read a lot. Well, not a lot compared to some people, but way more than is probably normal. Sometimes the books I’m reading from week to week will be the same, but I’ll endeavor to let you know what I’m thinking about them as I make progress (or don’t). I am and always have been a poly-reader – meaning I read multiple books simultaneously – so sorry if I give you whiplash. Here’s what’s on my nightstand these days and how I’m feeling about it!

New This Week

  • Unforgettable by Loretta Ellsworth
    Pages read: 30 of 256
    Dave picked this one out for me to review for the VA Festival of the Book. I’m not very far into it, but I really like what I’ve read so far. The hero is a 15-year-old boy who, since a head injury when he was 3 years old, cannot forget anything. He remembers his first crush from kindergarten as clearly as though they’d been together yesterday. Unfortunately, people have tried to abuse this talent in the past, and he’s even been called on to testify against people who have used him…people like his mom’s ex-boyfriend, who is now out of prison and looking for them. All this and he’s facing starting a new high school and an old crush…who doesn’t remember him at all. I didn’t want to put it down last night, and only did because I had to go to sleep so I could get to work this morning!

In Progress

Note on in-progress books: I’m only posting the book cover the very first time I add the book to the list on the blog, but you can see the covers by following the links in the titles.

  • Moon Women by Pamela Duncan
    Pages read: 124 of 495
    I read a bit more of this one over the weekend. It’s a decent light read, but it’s not as good (or as time-sensitive) as some of the other books I’ve been reading lately, so it gets shoved off to the bottom of the pile a lot.
  • Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin
    Pages read:55 of 754
    Okay, so Moon Women isn’t at the very bottom of the pile… No further progress on this one, but I’ve promised myself I’ll read a least a bit more of it this week!

Finished This Week

If you want to read my full reviews, see the Goodreads links below; for books I’ve finished, I’m planning to give just a five-sentence review on the blog.

  • The Dark Enquiry by Deanna Raybourn
    Read my review on Goodreads
    Lady Julia is constantly getting herself into trouble through her curiosity, this time by following her new husband (a half-gypsy, half-Scottish private detective in Victorian-era London) to a seance. The plan is to investigate a potential blackmail problem, but instead they witness murder, and their lives quickly become entangled in a dangerous international espionage. While I was slightly annoyed by Julia’s sometime submissive behavior to her husband, her curiosity always wins out, even if it means defiance, and their love for each other seems genuine. The writing is very good, and the characters were all quite interesting to me. I thoroughly enjoyed this mystery novel, to the point I would like to seek out the other four in the series!
  • Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex by Mary Roach
    Read my review on Goodreads
    In this book, Mary Roach talks to doctors and scientists and researchers about the ins and outs (pun totally intended) of sex. And I found it all incredibly uncomfortable to read for the most part. There are far too many stories of items inserted into urethras (both male and female), night-time erection prevention devices for men, swine insemination practices, and penile surgeries to make me more fascinated and less uncomfortable. There are bits – mostly historical, sociological, and anthropological bits – that were interesting. Unfortunately, the rest of the book, as my husband so eloquently put it after I read him one too many excerpts, takes all the fun out of sex.
Leave a Reply

