Blah Blah Blah

Things I’ve Learned in the Last 24 Hours

Glass crafts! Not one we actually did, but it was done at the glass crafty place we went to...
  1. The government makes things infinitely more complicated than they really need to be, even at the local level. Having 4 different forms to complete and 2 different offices to call in order to (legally) do 1 simple thing seems a bit excessive.
  2. Cutting glass in general is much easier than I ever imagined it would be. Cutting glass into very specific shapes, on the other hand, takes patience, talent, and practice.
  3. The world is sometimes really and truly a VERY small place.
  4. It’s really weird and unusual for me to actually be on time somewhere…and it’s doubly weird and a little uncomfortable when I’m the ONLY one on time.
  5. Comedians who are good and seasoned and famous still make mistakes and forget parts of their act…and are just as funny when they do that as when it all goes seamlessly.
  6. When faced with a situation where I have to get food quickly and eat it quickly between two points, and I have no idea what I want to eat, I will always choose Wendy’s if there is one nearby.
  7. Despite not being terribly fashionable, I enjoy being a fashion spectator: I did not watch or care about the royal wedding this morning, I am bored by awards shows like the Oscars, but I alway seek out photos of the dresses (and this morning, the HATS!) because I like to look.
  8. By spending 10 minutes on the internet, I can catch up on 5 hours of news and events and friends’ lives that I missed while doing things in the real world. By that calculation, it would take me 4 hours to catch up on the 5 days I’ll miss on the Disney cruise in a few weeks. I think I’ll just ask everyone to tell me anything desperately important when I get back and skip the rest – 4 hours is a LOOOOONG time combing through Facebook, Twitter, and RSS…
  9. I had more things in my closet that I haven’t worn in years than I imagined possible.
  10. I am a far more confident woman now than I was 10 years ago. In fact, I might go so far as to say I’m more confident than not. And I’m both surprised and delighted to see that in myself.
Leave a Reply

