Bookwormishness · Geekery

Comics You May Love (Despite Yourself): Blue Monday

Oh, how long it’s been since I wrote about comics! March was a long, busy month with little posting. I’m trying to get back to it in April. Today I have a book for the mods, the ladies, the ’80s-lovers. Blue Monday by Chynna Clugston-Major has been called a “modern-day Archie comics” – an apt description, I think. The main character is a teenage girl, Bleu. She and her friends go to school, have parties, fight, make up, go on dates, and live their lives to a mostly ’80s soundtrack. Bleu is completely obssessed with Adam Ant, and most of the first book revolves around her quest to get tickets to an Adam Ant concert.

There are teeange hijinks – boys teasing girls, girls not taking their shit, pranks and fashion and above all, an amazing soundtrack. Clugston-Major specifies songs and artists throughout the story – lots of Adam Ant (of course), the Cure, the Smiths, Morrissey, Echo and the Bunnymen…the best stuff from the ’80s and early ’90s. (Side note: I was so taken with these books and loved the soundtrack element of them so much that for my 30th birthday party, my dear sweet husband hunted down every song mentioned in any of the Blue Monday books and then some more in the same vein and created a Blue Monday playlist for my party. I still listen to it regularly. :)) The stories are light-hearted and fun, but also poignantly reminiscent of the best things about being a teenager. I was never as cool as Bleu and her gang as a teenager, but the joking around and flirting and silliness and friendships – and the music being everything in your life – all of that I remember. Blue Monday was fun and entertaining to read on its own, but it also inspired a happy trip down memory lane. Don’t get me wrong, you couldn’t pay me to be a teenager again, but I definitely did have some good times with friends then. If you’re looking for something goofy and fun with pretty art to look at, Blue Monday  is worth a look.

Leave a Reply

