The Grind

Career, Vocation, Calling, Job, Whatever

Source: Flickr user Matt Brady

I had a Facebook friend pose a question to all her friends this week that I found interesting. She asked, if you could do anything you wanted to with your time, without worrying about money, what would you do? Her intent, of course, was to get people to suss out what they really feel is their calling in life. Know what my answer was? “Sleeping, eating, goofing off on the computer, and reading.” Hmmm. Doesn’t sound much like a real job to me, but it’s truly an honest answer. I’ve been thinking about this for days, trying to figure out what I could say was my calling. What job, vocation, profession really calls to me? So far, I’ve got nothing but my original answer.

Don’t get me wrong – I like my primary job, very much. I work with a really fantastic group of people; there is variety in my job tasks; I’m paid a decent wage with decent benefits and feel appreciated and respected by my boss. But I wouldn’t say this is my great passion in life. I like it fine, and of course I’m not planning to change careers or quit my job (especially in this economy!), but it’s just the nature of being human to wonder about what your ideal life could be like, isn’t it? I have thought that being a librarian might be good for me – Lord knows I have collected an inordinate number of librarians as friends – but just because I like to read does not necessarily mean I’d be a good librarian. The idea of planning reading programs for schoolchildren is less interesting to me than just reading. And otherwise? No ideas.

So, anyone have a clue of a vocation involving sleeping, eating, goofing off on the computer, and reading? Maybe I’m just destined to win the lottery? Fingers crossed! And while we’re at it, how would you answer the question: if you could do anything you wanted to with your time, without worrying about money, what would you do?

7 thoughts on “Career, Vocation, Calling, Job, Whatever

  1. I would do my current job (high school librarian):
    minus the annoying co-workers
    minus the rule enforcing I have to do with students
    minus the internet filtering
    minus the crap paperwork we have to do to justify our jobs that takes us away from actually DOING our jobs
    plus LOTS of vacation time I could take whenever I wanted
    plus the freedom to bring my dogs to work
    plus the ability to take a rain day (stay home and just read by an open window when it rains)

    I think that would cover it. 🙂

  2. I think I would always take a class or two — all humanities subjects, read, and spend time with my family. And sleep a lot. Hard to find a calling, huh?

  3. I’ve been asking myself this question for oh…at least 18 years (I’ll be 37 next week!) and I’ve still got NOTHING. I am an editor/writer/designer, etc., and let me say I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up. There are days that I’m sure this isn’t it, but I can’t figure anything else out 😛

  4. Hmmmm, I would…sleep, make stuff and read. I miss voracious gratuitous reading.

    I don’t mind what I do either. I have some good coworkers (even if they are all boys) and I get to move around and do stuff. I don’t think I’d want to do it forever, though.

    I really wish I could get my inspiration back and write full time, but somehow I doubt that’s going to happen…

  5. I think I would volunteer more, most definitely. I’d take up animal causes and maybe something like CASA. I’d try to teach people personal finance basics and maybe even substitute teach. (I have thought about organizing a group via something like the Women’s Institute for Financial Education, before I got busy in the current job, I suppose.)

    I’d definitely craft more, including crochet and learning how to quilt and sew better. My yard would finally be free of weeds and the bare corner of the garden would be full of vegetables. I’d finally be buff. Ish. I’d be glad and content to cook most meals and try to be totally green like making my own laundry detergent and using more reusable stuff that I don’t always have time to deal with now rather than disposable.

    I suppose I could do a lot of that now if I had a little more time/energy towards getting organized and coordinated. Hm.

Leave a Reply

