Barbaric Yawping · Things That Make My Day

Why I Love Valentine’s Day

Source: Flickr user barbtrek (under the creative commons license)

I’ve read a lot of disparaging Facebook statuses and blogs and tweets about how people hate Valentine’s Day because it’s a Hallmark Holiday, blah blah blah. And that’s fine, I do understand that there’s a lot of hype around it, a lot of marketing enticing people to spend a small fortune on flowers and candy and dinner and jewelry. But Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays of the year, so I feel like I need to stand up for it a little. So here are all the reasons I like Valentine’s Day:

  • It doesn’t have to be about couples. My mom has always given me a Valentine’s gift. We sent a package to my niece this year. It’s a great opportunity to share your love with all the loved ones in your life.
  • There is almost always chocolate involved. And I love chocolate. A lot. Sometimes I think there’s chocolate in these veins instead of blood.
  • There are so many different ways to express love. Sure, gifts can be a way, particularly if the gift is well thought-out and meaningful to the recipient. But there are so many other ways to show love: cooking dinner when it’s not normally your chore; watching a movie your loved one wants to see with you that you really don’t care about; creative tributes to your love such as handmade cards or a picture book… I understand railing against the rampant consumerism our society seems to hold so close to its heart, but celebrating Valentine’s Day doesn’t have to involve spending money or buying Stuff. It can involve those things, but it doesn’t have to.
  • There cannot possibly be enough opportunities to celebrate love in our lives. Seriously. I know that people say that they have plenty of other chances to show their love for their spouse or partner, like Christmas and anniversaries and birthdays. But life is so short, and too often in our daily lives we choose the path of least effort with those we love the most – we’re comfortable, we assume they know we love them, and we’re exhausted by all the things we have to get done every day, so we don’t acknowledge one another more that we absolutely must in an effort to make life easier. That’s totally understandable – I certainly do it, and I’m sure others do as well. But love is such a rare and special thing, and let’s be honest – it takes work to keep it alive. Valentine’s Day is one more marker to remind you to cherish what you have and to let that person know exactly how much you do cherish them. What could possibly be wrong with that?
One thought on “Why I Love Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

