Sweet Home · Things That Make My Day

I Have Sprouts!!!

Yay!  I have sprouts in my pretty herb pot!!  Some of you may be laughing at me, but I am seriously notorious for my black thumb.  We’ve killed one set of herb sprouts and a small basil plant, and none of my three house plants look really excellent right now.  I just don’t understand plants.  I don’t speak their language, I’m impatient, and I’m bad at growing things.  So it’s really exciting to me that these suckers have sprouted and look decently healthy in their youth!  My problem now is that I didn’t keep track of which seeds I planted where.  I know the parsley was in the top, but other than that, I’m not really sure.  I think I’ve got it figured out, but I’m far from 100% certain.  If you ARE a gardening genius and have some advice for me on how to keep them alive and flourishing, I would appreciate it.

I think this is the anise...
...and this the sage...
...basil...
...oregano...
...and I *know* this is the parsley!

If anyone recognizes for sure one of the herbs from my sproutlings’ photos, please let me know!  I would like to have a clue before I put my sage in a recipe that called for basil or something!  😉

2 thoughts on “I Have Sprouts!!!

  1. I’m not a gardening genius, but I can tell you from my extensive Chia Pet experience that it is advisable to make sure your water doesn’t get “stale” or sit on the sprouts for a long time. They should be moist, but not soaking. Otherwise, the sprouts get too soggy and die off.

    Kudos to you for growing your own herbs! I hope to start my own garden someday too.

    1. Yeah, the pot is a little weird for that. I felt the dirt yesterday, and the herbs on top had dampish but getting dry soil, but the herbs in the lowest little pockets near the bottom of the pot had very moist soil. I planted them the way the picture on the box showed – hopefully the ones up top like it drier and the ones at the bottom like it wetter, because that’s what’s happening! 🙂

Leave a Reply

