Health Nutty · Honey Bear

New Motivations

So now, like 2 months and 5 lbs after I said I was getting back on the healthy wagon, I actually am.  I’ve become a regular face back at the gym for the last couple of weeks.  I’m getting motivated again to rein in my eating a little (though just a little at this point).  I feel better – I’m totally in a better mood this week than I have been.  Motivation to maintain the happy healthy is always a problem, though.  I like rich, buttery, sugary, salty, bad-for-me food – a LOT.  I am not overly fond of exercise, though I have gotten to a point where I don’t feel abject hatred at the thought of working out.  Life gets really busy sometimes, and healthiness tends to be the first thing to go.  I know I’m not alone on this, and what motivates me to keep at it changes periodically.  For a while, I was giving myself a present every time I lost 10 lbs, but that isn’t working for me anymore.  I think maybe that’s because I reached a point where I looked in the mirror, and while I would be pleased to lose more weight, I’m also reasonably happy with my body at the moment.  The motivation to lose weight is less now than it was because I don’t feel so fat and sloppy and gross.  I needed new motivation.  So here’s what I’ve got for now:

  • My husband decided all on his own to start eating healthier and working out more.  I don’t know what prompted it, but since he does all the cooking, I’m at his mercy for dinner.  I love watching him become healthier, and it makes me want to do it too.
  • I have workout buddies sometimes.  Two of the gals I work with go to the same gym I do, and we’ve been trying to coordinate going to classes together.  It really helps – today, I was worn out and ready for bed around 4:00 pm, and I IM’ed one of them to see if she was going to Zumba tonight.  Just the fact that she was planning to go was enough to drag me out of my chair and to the gym at 5:00, and it was a great class and I felt so much better for having done it.
  • I like games.  I like games a lot.  And I found a health game.  Maybe it won’t work for me next month, but for now, I like it.  It’s called Health Month.  You sign up (for free), identify what your goals for the month (choose from popular ones or make your own), and identify what you’ll do for yourself if you win at the end of the month as well as what you’ll do if you lose.  Then you play a turn every day and get kudos for doing things right.  You lose “life points” if you do things wrong.  You lose if you have zero life points left at the end of the month.  To date, I find it fun and motivating; stay tuned to see if I lose interest.

So that’s what I’ve got.  Maybe you’re one of those people I hate who is easily motivated to do what’s right just because that’s what’s best for them (GAG).  I suspect that if you’re friends with me, you’re NOT one of those people, so pony up.  How do you keep motivated to do the right thing by your body?  What’s working for you right now?  What used to work for you but doesn’t anymore?

2 thoughts on “New Motivations

  1. The impending apocalypse keeps me motivated. Knowing that I’m going to have to run from zombies or cannibals makes me want to stay in shape. Patton Oswalt sums it up pretty well here:

Leave a Reply

