Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday

Sort of a Flashback Friday.  But without a picture.  And without an actual flashback.

I had a dream last night that I remembered about halfway through my morning today, when I was in the throes of handing people badges and flagging down the AV guy to help the not-tech-savvy speaker get his computer to project through the LCD projector.  In the middle of all this, I remembered my dream, and I paused and smiled because I felt warm and happy and loved.  This is sort of remarkable for me because I very rarely remember my dreams.  I’m a pretty deep sleeper, and I don’t often wake up during a dream (which is pretty much the only guaranteed way to remember one), but I must have woken during the night to this dream, then gone back to sleep and remembered it hours later.

It was a very simple dream.  I was at home, with my family, all pretty much as they are now.  My mom, my dad, my husband, my sister, my niece, all themselves as they look and talk and act today.  And then I felt an arm around my shoulder and heard a voice in my ear say, “The biscuits are ready in the kitchen.”  And I turned, and my Grandma was there smiling at me, smiling because she made biscuits for me and they were hot out of the oven and she knew how much I loved her biscuits right out of the oven.  In my dream, I wasn’t surprised to see her, though she passed away almost 5 years ago.  But in my dream she was not only alive, but also perfectly herself with none of the dementia that plagued the last 8 years of her life in real life.  It was so nice, almost like a glimpse of what my heaven might be like someday.

I tried to find a picture of Grandma to share with you today, as the Flashback Friday photo to accompany the story of my dream, but I’m not at home and don’t have access to all my stuff.  But I thought about it, and I decided that it wasn’t strictly necessary.  Even if this isn’t really a flashback, the feeling it gave me is sort of a flashback.  And I hope the dream itself is sort of a flashforward to what my heaven will be like after I shed this mortal coil.  If you feel the need for a photo, I have posted a couple of my Grandma in the past, here and here (she’s 2nd from the right in that one).

Leave a Reply

