Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday (This One’s for Angie)

Today’s photo is all about embarrassing myself, I suppose.  I was about 24 when this photo was taken.  Yes, that is my real hair.  See, for most of my life, I was really strongly emotionally attached to my hair.  I always had long hair.  As a child, I wanted to be Crystal Gale (this photo shows her hair quite well – I think it’s only down to her knees now, but I remember watching her on TV once when I was little and her hair was just inches from the floor).  I cried – more than once – when my mom made me have it trimmed because the ends were so split and dry and ragged.  I would beg the stylist to cut it as little as possible – if she wanted to cut off 2 inches, I’d plead for a half inch.  Eventually, it grew into what you see in that picture.  Certainly not the most ragged long hair ever – I did have it trimmed at least once every 3 or 4 months – but hair that long is almost impossible to really keep healthy and pretty.  I finally had it cut shorter after David and I got engaged, and it stays a little longer than shoulder-length now – long enough to make me feel pretty and so that I can easily put it up in a ponytail, but short enough to keep it healthy.  I go to my fabulous stylist every 8 weeks for a trim, like clockwork (that would be the Angie in the title of the post; she never saw my hair super-long).

And don’t even get me started on those unflattering jeans or that baggy top – yick!

2 thoughts on “Flashback Friday (This One’s for Angie)

Leave a Reply

