Foodstuffs

In Praise of Summer’s Most Perfect Food

Source: stock.xchng

Oh, ice cream, most perfect and delicious.  There is nothing in the world like that sweet, delicious, creamy treat on a hot summer night.  Ice cream, gelato, frozen yogurt, on a stick, in a cone, in a dish, hard-packed or soft-serve, all of it is delicious.  I finished the last of our ice cream tonight, which means I will certainly be going to the store to get more tomorrow.  Summer without ice cream is like pizza without cheese – what’s the point?

Being a chocolate fiend, I am naturally drawn to chocolatey flavors, but I also love peanut butter and caramel and cake batter and cinnamon kinds of flavors.  The container I just finished tonight had a caramel swirl with chocolate-covered toffee chips in it.  Favorites that I don’t get unless they’re on sale – because they’re generally expensive – are Breyers’ Fried Ice Cream Overload and Waffle Cone Overlad and Ben & Jerry’s Chubby Hubby.  Earlier this year, we tried Haagen Dazs’ new Five collection in Passion Fruit, which was delicious.  In the generic store brands, which is what I get most of the time, I tend toward cookie dough or cookies and cream or chocolate and caramel or chocolate and peanut butter combinations.

I love to go out for ice cream too, though we don’t do it often (I’m by far the bigger ice cream fan in our little family).  We have several local places that are awesome.  Arch’s serves delicious frozen yogurt custom mixtures (favorite Archers are the Arch Angel and the Chunky Munkey).  Chaps makes their own delicious ice cream in plain old-fashioned flavors – plain chocolate or mint chocolate chip are my faves there.  Splendora’s makes awesomely fabulous gelato and sorbet in inventive flavors like blood orange and Chai tea and fennel caraway plum.  Kohr Brothers Frozen Custard is a long-time standby in this town – if you’ve never had frozen custard, you should really try it sometime for a unique texture and rich flavor.  There’s a new pay-by-the-weight, top-it-yourself fro-yo place I haven’t been to yet called Sweet Frog, but those who’ve been claim it’s delicious and cheap.  We also have some good national chains like Ben & Jerry’s and Dairy Queen, as well as a Maggie Moo’s (though I’d prefer a Coldstone!).

And I’m DYING to go to Humphry Slocombe in San Francisco – they make bizarro flavors that I am just adventurous enough to try, things like Ancho Chocolate and Secret Breakfast (bourbon and corn flakes) and White Chocolate Lavender and Honey Thyme.  And they have a Chocolate Orange flavor, which is pretty much my favorite chocolate-something else combination ever.

So I love ice cream.  I get it honest – so does my mom, and so did my Grandma.  I cannot remember ever being in either house without a half-gallon of ice cream in the freezer.  I have to believe there are other ice cream lovers out there.  What’s the weirdest ice cream you ever ate?  What’s in your normal ice cream-eating repertoire?

7 thoughts on “In Praise of Summer’s Most Perfect Food

  1. We have two great local ice cream chains in Columbus —

    http://graeters.com/
    Any of the “chip” flavors are to die for because the chips are actually big chocolate chunks. Some of my colleagues actually shipped Graeters to me when I was pregnant and living in Sweet Briar, VA.

    and

    http://jenisicecreams.com/
    Jeni’s has flavors that sound more like your San Fran place. I love the salty caramel!

    1. I’ve heard awesome things about Graeters but I’ve never had any. And you are MEAN, Beth – both Graeter’s and Jeni’s ship to VA! It’s not cheap, but it sounds SO GOOD…

  2. Oh wait — and one more —

    A relatively recent addition to the scene, Menchie’s Frozen Yogurt. Do-it-yourself, great flavors in the Arch’s variety, and endless toppings. This is a big hit with the 3-year old!

  3. Hershey’s Moose Tracks, all the way! For custard, Ted Drewe’s in St. Louis. Fox Treat Sundae–vanilla custard, hot fudge sauce, macadamia nuts, and raspberries. Yummy!

    1. Moose Tracks is definitely yummy. Believe it or not, I’ve had Ted Drewe’s as well – as a thank you for our support one year, a member of one of our associations who lives in St. Louis sent some to our office packed in dry ice! Not a sundae, though, just cups of vanilla and chocolate custard 🙂

  4. You get the ice cream love honest-as you said. The chocolate orange combo? My favorite treat when I was pregnant with you was orange sherbert with hot fudge sauce from the local High’s ice cream!!

    1. (Say hi to my mom, everybody!) Yes, I know that my love of all things chocolate, especially dark chocolate, and chocolate-orange and chocolate-raspberry and chocolate-mint and chocolate with pretty much anything, comes from my genetic make-up! 🙂 And I miss High’s – that was another place I loved to get mint chocolate chip. Or White House Cherry from Chuck’s, while Holly got boring old Crazy Vanilla.

Leave a Reply

