Flashback Friday

Flashback Friday (um, on Saturday this time)

This week ended with me driving back to Charlottesville and spending time with the husband I hadn’t seen in a week, and then I realized that the photo I scanned last week for this post was sized ridiculously tiny, so I was going to have to rescan it…and so you’ve got a post delayed to Saturday.  Sorry!  That’s the way it goes sometimes.

The picture above is of my Grandma.  I don’t know exactly when it was taken, but she passed away when she was 83, so I’d guess she was somewhere between 75 and 80 in this picture (the last two years of her life, she was pretty much catatonic from a bad form of dementia).  It was taken on my parents’ front porch, and I love it because she looks happy.  I was really close to my grandparents – I grew up right next door to them, and my Grandma retired when I was in 3rd grade so she kept us after school until we were old enough to have band or tennis or Ace team or whatever practice after school and could stay by ourselves on the rare days we had nothing to do.  Notice how dark brown her hair is in this picture.  Everybody always assumed she dyed it, but she never did.  She died with a head full of dark brown hair at 83.  My mom is already more gray at 55 than my Grandma ever was, and I can already see the coarse gray hairs starting to come in my hair, so I’ll probably be the same.  My Grandma was a very kind, quiet, shy woman who loved to read and do crossword puzzles.  I’m a lot like my mom, but I’m also a lot like my Grandma.  I miss her, but I talk to her and Papa often, like a sort of prayer.  I miss them both, but I don’t feel distant from them.

2 thoughts on “Flashback Friday (um, on Saturday this time)

Leave a Reply

