Geekery

Favorite Things About My iPhone

My actual for real iPhone

People have been cranky about the new iPhone here lately!  Everything is bad, it never works, Steve Jobs is an asshat, when will it come in white, etc. etc. etc.  I think people are just whiny.  I am here to tell you that I love my new phone.  Maybe it’s just because it’s a huge step up from what I had before, but I think it’s amazing.  I have had no reception problems.  No functionality problems.  And it’s an expensive gadget, so I have been really careful not to drop it like an idiot.  Therefore – no problems.  I read something online yesterday about how the iPhone has become an adult security blanket…and I can see that.  I really have it with me everywhere and I’m very cognizant of where it is at all times.  Some of that is just how new it still is to me – a new toy to play with – and some is, again, how expensive it is and that I don’t want to lose it or have it stolen or have the dog pee on it or whatever.  But mainly, I think it’s just so incredibly USEFUL.  That’s really why I’ve wanted one for so long anyway, because it can do so many things and eliminate the need for a lot of scribbled post-it notes and junk in my purse.  So.  Here’s a list of my favorite things about my iPhone, because the poor thing needs a little love in the public eye right now.

  • No more paper grocery list – I have a shopping app so I can check off items as we walk through the store and never worry about forgetting something until we’re standing in line.
  • Flashlight!  This sounds dumb, but I find I always need a flashlight when I’m nowhere near one.  There are millions of free flashlight apps out there, and I have one I like.
  • Calendar – always with me, all my dates (work and personal) in one place.  When they want to schedule my next dentist appointment while I’m in the office, I’ll easily know if it conflicts with a conference call or meeting that’s already scheduled.
  • To-do list – always with me.
  • Easy access when I’m not at my computer to email, Facebook, Google Reader, banking info, whatever.
  • When I eat or work out on the road, easy access to my favorite food and fitness tracker.
  • I can instantly enter my mileage info into the mileage tracking website I like to use while I’m at the gas pump instead of hoping it prints a receipt (they’re so often out of receipt paper and ask you to go inside to get one) or trying to remember what it was and writing info on scraps of paper to enter later.
  • Tons and tons and tons of games – I will never be bored in an airport again.
  • Lots of nifty little distractions that are fun, like SoundHound, which identifies just about any song after you play it for a few seconds, and Star Walk, which you can point at the sky and it tells you what stars you’re looking at just based on your GPS position and the built-in compass (meaning I did it from inside my house last night – it told me what stars I’d be seeing if I were standing outside and it weren’t cloudy).
  • Navigation system – I’ve never had one, and I got a cheapy one that is not subscription-based, and it led me successfully to a location in downtown DC with very few problems.  Loved it!
  • Probably my very favorite thing is having the Barnes & Noble eReader app – it has a night setting, which is white letters on a black background, but since it’s still backlit, I can read it without turning on a light.  Which is awesome when I want to read and David has already gone to sleep and turned all the lights out.

The one thing I liked better about my old phone was that I could go FOREVER without charging it.  I do have to charge my iPhone every 2 to 3 days, and I was used to going 2 to 3 weeks without a charge.  BUT.  I also am constantly downloading and updating and re-arranging my apps, so that requires being plugged into my computer anyway.  So the charging is a minor thing, really.  Everything else is so awesome…I feel so lucky to have such an incredibly fun and useful toy!

3 thoughts on “Favorite Things About My iPhone

    1. It’s a wonderful word. And I do kind of think Steve Jobs is an asshat, but he’s a BRILLIANT asshat who makes new toys for me to play with. So I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

