Foodstuffs · Let Me Entertain You

I Dream of Pie

Source: Stock Xchng

I woke up at 4:30 am this morning and had an almost impossible time going back to sleep.  Why?  I was dreaming about making pie, and when I woke up I wanted to go peruse our cookbooks looking for pie recipes that I might want to make.  I wanted to make the crust and the filling of some delicious, unique pie, and it took me counting backwards from 500 to fall asleep again.  I know I got to at least 380, which is much further than I usually get even when I’m first trying to fall asleep, much less when I wake up in the middle of the night.

Let me clarify two points.  First, I do not cook or bake regularly at all.  I prefer baking to regular cooking, but I still don’t do it often, and David takes care of our day-to-day cooking (I do most of the cleaning and manage the finances, so that’s our trade-off).  I have never actually made a from-scratch pie crust.  Second, I know exactly why I was having this dream.  We watched the movie Waitress the other night, and if you haven’t seen the movie, you should know that it’s a very cute movie that heavily features a very talented pie baker living her life, including baking a lot of pies.  It made me want to become a talented pie baker myself.  So I had a dream about making pie.

We’re having a dinner guest next Monday, and I have the day off since the 4th of July is on a Sunday this year, so I think I might make a pie for dessert.  David will make something delicious and Italian for dinner, and earlier in the day I’ll bake a pie.  I haven’t decided what pie yet.  I looked at our America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook, and I may make a summer berry pie, or a free-form summer fruit tart, or a chocolate-cognac tart (if I make that one, I have to buy a tart pan because I don’t have one).  Or I may find another recipe and try that instead.  Regardless, I’m quite sure that I’ll make a pie, and it will be tasty, and then it will be out of my system and I probably won’t feel like doing it ever again.  But I’ll have my pie baker dream for a day, at least. 🙂   What’s your favorite kind of pie?

7 thoughts on “I Dream of Pie

  1. Um…I like pie.

    pumpkin pie
    cherry pie
    lemon meringue pie
    pecan pie
    buttermilk pie (I keep trying different recipes to hit on my grandmother’s pie, I think I’ve got the filling down, just need to nail the crust)
    sweet potato pie
    apple pie
    pizza pie
    impossible cheeseburger pie
    chicken pot pie

    chocolate pie

    1. I like pie too 🙂 We’ll have to get David to make Tarheel Pie for you (maybe we’ll rename it Blue Devil Pie just for you!) – it’s friggin awesome.

  2. I think you should bake a chocolate chess pie or a pecan pie and bring it to my house. Good luck with your pie baking. There’s something about baking a pie from scratch that intimidates me. I think it’s the crust part. I have yet to make a good pizza crust. I’m sure any pie crusts I made would suck as well.

    Be sure to photograph and blog about your pie success.

    1. I’ve never actually made pie crust before, and it’s absolutely an intimidating idea. If I do the summer berry pie, that goes in a graham cracker crust, so that’s less worrisome for me. Of course, I have found the name of a pie on the Cook’s Illustrated website that I want to try – Banana Caramel Coconut Cream Pie with Dark Rum (that probably goes in a regular crust) – but those Nazis make you pay to be a member of their website before you can see their recipes. They *ARE* the best recipes ever, though. I need to find someone who is a member already and get them to snag the recipe for me.

  3. I think my all-time favorite has to be that quintessential Southern favorite- Chocolate Chess Pie. I like it the way it’s always been made- no pecans (which I pronounce pee-cans, much to the delight of many of the people I know who ‘ain’t from ’round here’, or any othe recent additions. Anyway, it’s easy, velvety smooth and I usually have to make them two at a time. Three’s better. If you want the recipe I’d be happy to send it to you!

  4. Better homes and Gardens has run a few recipes on the perfect pie crust and they have lots of pie recipes on their site for free. I think they even have video demonstrations. Just a thought if you’re sure you want to go from scratch. My mother-in- law makes as awesome French Apple Pie with raisins. I say any pie is good pie!

Leave a Reply

