Let Me Entertain You

Summer Music

The Husband and I were hanging out and chatting this weekend, and we stumbled onto the subject of summer music.  Something about summer coming, with the warmer weather and sunshine and longer days, makes both of us crave particular music.  I personally seem to find myself drawn back to the albums I loved as a teenager and young adult, albums I’ve heard so many times that I can sing them at the top of my lungs (and I’m actually usually sick of them the rest of the year because they are SO familiar).  That doesn’t account for all of my favorite summer music, but a good bit of it.  So here is some of the music that frequents MY summer playlist every year.

Sparkle and Fade, Everclear

This album was Everclear’s first major studio release.  It came out in the spring of my senior year of high school, and I became a devoted Everclear fan for many, many years after that.  They’ve released a bunch of albums since then, but this one and its follow-up, So Much for the Afterglow, are by far their best in my opinion.  They’re just full of angsty, simple California sun-drenched rock.  There’s no depth to the lyrics.  Everything is on the surface.  It’s incredibly delicious and just makes me want to roll down all my windows, sing really loud, drum on my steering wheel and soak in the sun.

Great Expectations Soundtrack, Various Artists

Released during my college days, I was ambivalent about the movie, but I adored this soundtrack.  I wore it out.  It’s moody and beautiful, a perfect backdrop for sitting outside in hot sticky weather with a cool beverage and your thoughts.  I felt very cool and superior listening to such “alternative” music in college.  Now of course I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I still love this album almost as much as I did when I was 20 years old.

Sublime, Sublime

My best friend and I dubbed this album the “trouble-makin’ music.”  We’d play it when we were on our way to be out somewhere, dancing or drinking or generally makin’ trouble for the night.  It lends itself well to that.  It was also the album I became obssessed with the summer between my freshman and sophomore years of college, and when my college roommate came into the room when it was playing one time, she said something like, “Jen! What are you listenting to?!  What would your mother say?!!” (she’d been my roommate the previous year as well and knew my family pretty well).  Again California rock-y, but with more hip-hop and reggae influence, and a little more sinister than Everclear.  I stand by the assessment that it’s good trouble-makin’ music.

Galore, The Cure

Apparently, this is out of print – Amazon doesn’t have an MP3 version and the audio CD version is only available from “these sellers.”  Whatever.  It’s a great album, a compilation of some of The Cure’s hits, mostly from the ’80s and ’90s I think.  Apparently, Cure purists think it’s garbage, but I love almost every song on the album.  Despite the fact that their song lyrics are often depressing, the songs themselves make me feel happy.  Which is summery and good.

We Brave Bee Stings and All, Thao with the Get Down Stay Down

This one is the only new love of my life that I’ve included on this list.  I found these guys about a year and a half ago because they went to my alma mater and there was an article about them in the alumni magazine.  I listened to a few songs and thought their sound was utterly fascinating.  I made David listen to one, and he said, “Oh, I think I bought that album a couple of weeks ago.”  So I stole it from his iTunes and I love it way more than he does.  It’s sort of folk rock/bluegrass/weirdness, which just appeals to me.  And they talk about swimming pools and bees and other summer things that apropos of the season.

I could probably list another 15 or 50 albums, but in the interest of my time and yours, that’s all I’m going to share.    Don’t judge me too harshly.  🙂  Feel free to share your summer music favorites in the coments!

2 thoughts on “Summer Music

  1. Unfortunately, one of the bands that lets me know it’s summer on the radio is Sugar Ray. I loathe Sugar Ray and hope to never hear another one of their songs, but for some reason, every time I turn off my i-pod to listen to the radio, guess who’s there ringing in sunshine…
    Eric wholeheartedly agrees with your Sublime opinion.
    For me, good summer music is usually southern rock or Outkast, which takes me back to my Steiny’s days.

    1. You mean you don’t just want to fly? *snicker* It’s a perk of living here that I don’t think I’ve EVER heard Sugar Ray on my preferred radio station. They’re not perfect, but they’re better than average.

Leave a Reply

