Family Ties

Flashback Friday

Today we have one of my favorite pictures of all time.  That’s me and my Papa, my maternal grandfather, under a dogwood tree in his and Grandma’s front yard.  I had the rare and wonderful experience of growing up right next door to my grandparents, so I was very close to them.  In this picture, I think I was 5 and Papa was probably 74.  Before he retired, he worked for the local seed-and-feed store, and he ran a small cattle farm in addition to that right up until the day he died 16 and a half years ago.  I still think about him and miss him almost on a daily basis.  I love this picture because it brings back the good feelings that permeated my childhood, peacefulness and happiness.

One thought on “Flashback Friday

Leave a Reply

