Health Nutty

Healthy, wealthy and wise?

I have been working out consistently for almost a year.  I have been paying attention to what I eat – not dieting, mind you, just being mindful – and I have lost about 35 lbs. in the last year.  Not crazy-fast progress, but it’s the kind I can live with and the kind I think I can maintain.

I’ve been thinking about my exercise habits lately, though, and I decided I needed to incorporate more strength training in.  I was going to one yoga class a week and sometimes if I felt like it I’d go do weights on Friday afternoon after work.  (Imagine how often I actually felt like going.  On a Friday.  After work.)  So I decided about 2 or 3 weeks ago that I needed to start getting up early two days a week to have time to take care of all my fitness needs.  And that first week, I did GOOD.  I got up early on Tuesday (yoga day) and did 30 minutes on the treadmill to get in some cardio for the day since I knew I’d be doing yoga class that evening.  I got up early on Thursday and did a weight circuit (cardio scheduled in the form of hip hop class that evening).  I was supposed to do weights again on either Saturday or Sunday, but I got sucked into an editing project and I didn’t do any exercise all that weekend.

Then last week…I don’t know.  I just lost my will to get up any earlier than was strictly and absolutely necessary.  I probably ought to confess that I am about as far from being a morning person as you can get.  Left to my own devices, my schedule tends to have me awake until 1:00 am and then sleeping until 10:00 am.  I get up at 7:00 am to be at work by 8:30 am, and I’m often late.  So I should have realized that early morning workouts really would not work for me, but I just don’t know when else I have time, and I want to do these things to help make my body stronger.  I feel like I don’t have enough free time as it is, so I’m just not sure when to shoehorn in more.  Walk at lunch on Tuesdays (and get to work half an hour earlier to make up the lost time)?  Stay after hip hop class for weights on Thursdays (and therefore not get home until 7:15 pm)?  I’d love suggestions…

3 thoughts on “Healthy, wealthy and wise?

  1. Congrats on the new blog! I’m looking forward to reading about your trials and attempted structure schedules.
    As far as suggestions… try FitSugar forums. They have great advice.
    Wear ankle weights around the office? Or, in the words of JD from Get Rich Slowly, “do what works for you.” 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Thanks, Sara! I am trying to do what works for me, and I am totally exercising 5-6 days a week. I’m just trying to fit in a little more, and maybe I just shouldn’t worry about it. Or maybe I should do push-ups and resistance bands in front of the TV one night instead of goofing off on the internet and go to the gym for weights on the weekend (and still do yoga on Tuesdays but not worry about fitting in cardio that day too since I do cardio 4-5 other times in the week). I don’t know. I’ll probably do something for a while and then change it up, as most of us do 🙂

  3. Drop one of your cardio sessions since you do it 4-5 times a week and replace it with weights. Weight training helps burn calories, and you’ll probably find that it improves your cardio workouts as well. It sounds like you have a lot of variety in your workout routine. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

