Skip to content

My Week, and My Eleven Questions from Becky

August 10, 2013
tags:

It’s been kind of a crazy week around here. I didn’t mention it in the last post, but my family lost a beloved family member unexpectedly and at too early an age about a week and a half ago, and we were at her funeral a week ago. One of our dogs was made extremely ill by an antibiotic treatment for tick-borne illnesses while the other has totally torn up her tail worrying a hot spot. Then we had the book club occurrence that riled me up, followed by my book club meeting, trying (and failing) to catch up on work, being featured on the Eleanor Project, attending a Getting Things Done seminar in Richmond, and getting a shout-out (with homework) from my friend Becky over at Chicken Wire & Paper Flowers. On top of all that, I started feeling like I’m coming down with a cold yesterday, this is the first weekend we’ve been able to do chores in several weeks so there’s a lot to do, and, if you can imagine this, I haven’t been sleeping particularly well so I’m pretty run down.

I have a bunch of things I could and hopefully will write about in the coming weeks, but this weekend, I am oh-so-grateful for Becky’s questions, because this can be an easy post that I don’t have to think too hard to write. And if you’re not already reading Becky’s blog, I would encourage you to check it out, especially if you’re into cooking of any kind (but particularly pickles and canning), gardening, smart-assery, spunky tweens, Girl Scouts, longtime girlfriends, etc. etc. etc. She and her husband Pat are so open and welcoming and friendly and perpetually in pursuit of some fun, and their daughter Edie is probably the coolest 11-going-on-30-year-old I’ve ever met. (Becky frequently refers to how Edie is probably more grown-up than she is in some ways.) Anyway. On to her questions!

1. The one book you read over and over again.
It’s been a while since I read either of them, but I used to read Little Women by Louisa May Alcott at least once a year, and I’ve read The Hounds of the Morrigan by Pat O’Shea at least 6 or 7 times. I’ve also read many books in the L.M. Montgomery catalog numerous times (I own every book she ever published), as well as A Wrinkle in TimeThe Outsiders, and The Catcher in the Rye. And The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers was my gateway drug to Southern lit, and I’ve read it over and over.

2. Meal planner or just open the fridge and see what you have and throw it together kind of cook?
Heh. I’m not the cook at all. My husband cooks everything in our house. Well, I do occasionally make breakfast, but that’s about it. We do plan our meals together though, because we only shop from a shopping list and you can’t make a shopping list without knowing what you’re going to cook. And on the rare occasions that I do actually cook something, I definitely like a plan (though breakfast is easier to wing).

3. Favorite curse word.
Without a doubt, it’s fuck. Though I do try to curb my tongue in front of my kid, my mother, and people I don’t know.

4. Which is the better album – Dark Side of the Moon or The Wall?
Er…Pink Floyd is not really my thing. I don’t feel familiar enough with either to choose a favorite. Sorry. At least I know these are Pink Floyd, right? :) How about another album-choice game for an artist I bet we both like? I pick Doolittle over Surfer Rosa.

5. In the movie of your life, who would play you?
Drew Barrymore. An old boyfriend once told me she looked like me (or I looked like her, whatever – I guess she’s a year or two older than me), and though I never really agreed, it’s stuck in my mind. No one else has ever compared me to a celebrity. And I kinda like Drew.

6. Best decision you ever made?
Having a baby. We were on the fence about it for a long time. We were married 7 years before we even decided to start trying to get pregnant, and I was days from turning 35 when she was born. Yes, I have less sleep and less free time and more frustration and more screaming in my life, and yet it’s all worth it. She’s amazing.

7. What’s your guilty pleasure?
I have so many. Cheap mystery novels. Chocolate. Doctor Who. Sleep. I don’t think I have anything particularly bad right now, but I have had addictions to terrible TV shows at times in the past (I’m looking at you, Brothers and Sisters…). :)

8. How did you meet your significant other?
Online, because we’re both introverted hermit dorks. Our first date lasted 10 hours, though – we hit it off instantly.

9. Coffee, tea or soda in the morning?
Coffee, my life’s blood first thing in the morning. Along with a big glass of water.

10. Favorite noodle type.
Like, shape? I like rotini best, I think – they pick up sauce better than most other noodles. For a dish with noodles in it, probably lasagna (though I do also love a good pho).

11. Why did you start blogging to begin with?
I wanted to empty my brain of things I was thinking about, and I didn’t have a good platform for that. So I created one. Pretty typical for personal-type blogs, I think.

And that’s it. I cannot possibly summon the energy to identify other bloggers for the game or to come up with more questions, so I’m being a spoilsport and ending the game here. Unless you want to play along with Becky’s questions, in which case, have at it! If you do, comment on this post with a link to your blog so we can all go see it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 12, 2013 1:10 pm

    Thank you for playing along and for all the lovely compliments!
    Interesting to see how we have some of the same favorite books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

